10065 WSA E HOST UNREACH:

Analytics

10065 WSA E HOST UNREACH:

Having trouble connecting to a teradata server on a large corporate LAN. So large I can't find help internally. Getting the 10065 Host Unreachable message. Specifically, it says "The Teradata Server can't currently be reached over this network."

I am new to Teradata and to this forum, so go easy on me. I suspect an internal firewall issue is causing the problem. The server is definitely up and running. It is on domain A and I am on domain B several hundred miles away. The folks in domain A can connect to the server but can't see my SQL server. I can see my SQL server but can't connect to their Teradata server.

Other than a firewall issue, I suspect a shared trust may or may not exist between the two domains. Either way, am I in the ballpark or is there something specific the error message is telling me?

Thanks for your help!
4 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: 10065 WSA E HOST UNREACH:

You mentioned two Domains. Is the Teradata system setup for Kerberos (Active Directory) authentication?

Anyway, I do not think it is a Domain issue. Can you ping the Teradata nodes?

Usually a Teradata system has two or more nodes; each node is identified by SystemNameCOPn where n starts from one. For example a two node system FOO will have two DNS entries FOOCOP1 and FOOCOP2.

Try pinging SystemNameCOP1 and SystemNameCOP2. There is a network issue If PING shows an IP address but it cannot reach the node.

Are you using .NET Data Provider to connect SQL Server to Teradata Database?

I have a simular issue.
Sometimes my Teradata Server Demo (a linux VM) isn't able to be reach over network when I try to connect thru queryman.
I thought it could be a network issue, but I'd had ping my server with the following command and the server replied all pings. See bellow:
C:\>ping tddemocop1

Disparando tddemo [10.11.63.9] com 32 bytes de dados:
Resposta de 10.11.63.9: bytes=32 tempo<1ms TTL=63