Combining 4 tables and prioritize the data in them?

Analytics
Enthusiast

Combining 4 tables and prioritize the data in them?

Hi All,

I am new to Teradata world and in trouble. I have a requirement, hope I will get help from you guys. I will try to be as much clear as I can, further clarification will be provided if needed.

I have three tables. The data in these tables needs to be prioritize depending upon the data in the fourth table. Then the higest priority data will be loaded to fifth table and that should be deleted from the tables it came from(1st or 2nd or 3rd table). Then I will use this highest priority data for some Insert/Update and will delete it from 5th tables as well. Till then there may be or may not be new data in two of the three original tables. Need to do the prioritization again, Highest priority data to be deleted from the table it came and then will be used for the same purpose and so on.

all the tables having more than 30 columns except Priority table(4th one) which will have two columns depending upon which we need to decide the priority.

table 1:

LL     RCL     1234

ML    CVC     1234

table 2:

ML    RCL      5678

LL     CVC      7899

table 3:

GT    ABC      7865

LL    RCL      0123

Table 4:

LL    RCL

LL    CVC

ML    RCL

ML    CVC

GT     ABC

so as per the table 4: LL  RCL is the highest priority and hence a row from Table 1 and a row from table 3 should come to table 5 and should be deleted from the respective tables. Table 5 data will be used for Update/insert and will be deleted from there and then we will start the process again with the remaining or any new data came in.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Thanks,

Terankit

8 REPLIES
Senior Supporter

Re: Combining 4 tables and prioritize the data in them?

Hi,

from which info do you derive that LL RCL has highest priority?

relational ables are not ordered....