teradataR package and R 3.0.0

Analytics
Fan

teradataR package and R 3.0.0

Hi All,

I am new to Teradata and trying to get my connection from R to work... I am running R 3.0.0 and installing the package through 

install.packages("~/Downloads/teradataR_1.0.1.zip", repos = NULL)

throws a warning that package ‘~/Downloads/teradataR_1.0.1.zip’ is not available (for R version 3.0.0)

What are the compatible R versions for teradataR? The documentation PDF mentions R 2.11 and later

Are there any plans to release teradataR for R3.0.0?

Tags (1)
23 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: teradataR package and R 3.0.0

It will work on any version >= 2.11 and < 3.0.0.

Supporter

I know - but why doesn't TD release a new version? 

Or release the source code as open source and someone could move this forward?

Teradata Employee

I have a similar issue with the latest RODBC 1.3-6.     It states that it was build under R 3.0.0.   The RODBC archive has RODBC_1.3-5.tar.gz.   I'm hopeful that once gunzip'ed it will install.

Enthusiast

Yes Teradata, please support R by updating the package or releasing the source code.

I experienced the issue with TeraData ODBC not working with R version 3.0, but started using R 3.0 and RStudio 3.0.1 because it's a better environment.  Figured I would find a way to connect them or revert the R once the code was developed.

I combined a couple of posts and this is what just worked on my windows 7 laptop.  I also have TeraData Studio open with an active connection to the same database, so that may have something to do with R version 3.0.1 using RODBC and successfully querying TeraData v14.  This is an initial post, as I will investigate the connectivity with more complex queries in the coming days.

library(RODBC)
odbcDataSources()

# dBASE Files
# "Microsoft Access dBASE Driver (*.dbf, *.ndx, *.mdx)"
#...
# TestData
# "Teradata"

channel <- odbcDriverConnect("dsn=testData;uid=user;pwd=password;")