How to load Fixed width files into Aster

Aster
Enthusiast

How to load Fixed width files into Aster

Hi,

I am new to Aster and would like to know how to load fixed width files into Aster db. Do we have any utilities in Teradata Aster similar to Teradata like TPT, MLOAD, etc and if so please share any example.

I have loaded delimited files using ncluster_loader. Please share some sample script to process fixed width files.

Appreciate your help on this !!

Regards,

Arun

4 REPLIES
Senior Apprentice

Re: How to load Fixed width files into Aster

Hi Arun,

afaik there's no Aster tool to load fixed width files.

You need to use any ETL tool supporting Aster or JDBC/ODBC.

Enthusiast

Thank you Dieter !!

From your response I understand that ncluster_loader is built to process only delimited files.

Just curious to know on how we will process the unstructured data into Aster.

I assume using SQL-MR function we will be able to load Unstructured data and if so can we use it for loading fixed width files. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Enthusiast

With flat files it's probably easier just to write a quick shell script to insert delimeters at the approriate places.  Use the Unix/Linux "named pipes" (FIFOs) feature load from your script instead of creating a new delimited file.  The general idea is:

mkfifo mynamedpipe

ncluster_loader -h queenname -d dbname -U username -w secretpw -c myschema.mytable < mynamedpipe &

add_delimiters.sh myinputfile.txt "1-5,6-10,11-20,21-50,51-51,52-52,53-53,55-90" > mynamedpipe

Where "add_delimiters.sh" is the shell script you wrote to convert the fixed-width file to CSV format (remember to convert " to "" within fields!)