MTDP: EM_TIMEEXCEEDED(245): Timeout from DBCHWL.

Connectivity

MTDP: EM_TIMEEXCEEDED(245): Timeout from DBCHWL.

Hi Folks,
I'm using a .NET Data provider version [01.02.00.00] for Teradata. I'm using connection pooling feature which is being provided by the data provider. Once i start using my web based application, as the number of users start using system concurrently at some point of time application throws the below given exception.

As a developer i'm not able to come to a conclusion, what the problem would be ?
Any help will be appreciated.

Regards,
Rahul Pawar.
6 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: MTDP: EM_TIMEEXCEEDED(245): Timeout from DBCHWL.

Provider does not receive a response from Teradata Database within the specified TIMEOUT period.

DbCommand (TdCommnad) has a default timeout: [url=http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.data.common.dbcommand.commandtimeout.aspx]DbCommand.CommandTimeout
[/url]

TdCommand defaults to 30 seconds before it aborts the query and returns the error.

One solution is to increase the command timeout; another is to investigate the overall responsiveness your system under load.

Thanx for your reply.
I have specified CommandTimeout = 180 seconds.

Is the issue with connection pooling ?
Application uses .NET framework 2.0, though application closes a connection through the code it is not guaranteed that i will immediately return to the pool. Hence if i set performance counters, there are some connections which are getting leaked out ( means number of connections and number of pooled connections never match.

Some clarity on this will be helpful.

Teradata Employee