Teradata with SSIS

Connectivity

Teradata with SSIS

Hi,

I am a SSIS ETL guy and i need to extract data from Terada database, it is an new project recently i got assigned.

Please give me some check list how can connect teradata and what are steps i should follow before going to develop SSIS Packages.

Thanks....
8 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Teradata with SSIS

Hello,

As far as connection to Teradata is concerned, you can use .NET or ODBC driver for Teradata. Following is the URL for that:

- http://www.teradata.com/DownloadCenter/

Regards,

Adeel

Got Teradata working with SSIS 2008, pretty exciting and not very intuitive.  Here it is.  Environment Win 7, VS 2008 for SSIS, Teradata Client 13.x, Windows auth connections to Teradata work in our environment.   I installed the Teradata client 13.x and it was working pretty well.   Their SQL Assistant worked, I am a c# programmer and my c# calls for Teradata were working, so the Teradata client install was good.  So I opened by VS 2008 SSIS environment and expected to see Teradata in the OLE DB Source options.   Had a ton of microsoft drivers, finally 1 Oracle OLE DB driver (after trying a ton of different Oracle client installs) but no Teradata OLE DB driver, so what to do?  Tried some things like SSIS Tools -> Connect to Database and got that to work.   But a Teradata connection for OLE DB still wasn't showing.  Then the key, I picked an ADO.Net Source.  The ADO.Net source had a Teradata Database Data Provider option so now we are getting somewhere.   You put in the dns name for your Teradata Server in SSIS Server Name and change the Mechanism on that page to LDAP.  Then the tricky part.  Click the "All" option in the upper left hand screen, in other places in SSIS this is the Advanced option.   Here I kept Integrated Security as False but put in my userid and password where requested.  Hit Test Connection and BOOM! the car was hot wired.  Put in a File destination and I was getting all the columns out of Tera