Unable to connect to teradata

Connectivity
Enthusiast

Unable to connect to teradata

Hi All,

I am new to Teradata. I have knowledge on Oracle. Recently I installed Teradata 13 version on my lap through VM. I completely installed Teradata tools and utilities. Now I am not able to connect to Teradata through SQL Assistant. While I tried to connect it's showing Error. Below the error log:

5/4/2014 2:51:46 PM

SQLA Version: 13.0.0.8

System.AccessViolationException

Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.

at Teradata.SQLA.OdbcConnectInfo.SQLDriverConnectW(IntPtr hdbc, IntPtr hwnd, IntPtr szConnStrIn, Int16 cbConnStrIn, IntPtr szConnStrOut, Int16 cbConnStrOutMax, Int16& pcbConnStrOut, Int16 fDriverCompletion)

at Teradata.SQLA.OdbcConnectInfo.GetConnectString() in F:\ttu130_efix_snap\tdcli\qman\sqla\OdbcConnectInfo.vb:line 89

at Teradata.SQLA.OdbcConnectInfo.Connect() in F:\ttu130_efix_snap\tdcli\qman\sqla\OdbcConnectInfo.vb:line 175

at Teradata.SQLA.MainFrm.ConnectMenu_Click(ConnectInfo cn) in F:\ttu130_efix_snap\tdcli\qman\sqla\MainFrm.vb:line 936

at Teradata.SQLA.MainFrm.ToolbarMgr_ToolClick(Object sender, ToolClickEventArgs e) in F:\ttu130_efix_snap\tdcli\qman\sqla\MainFrm.vb:line 551

Can someone help me out please..

Regards,

Venkat

6 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Unable to connect to teradata

The version of SQL Assistant that you are running is almost 5 years old. The latest version for TTU 13.0 [still old] is 13.0.0.16.

You can however use newer versions of SQL assistant with older versions of the database, and TTU. 

The latest version is 15.0.

I don't see any fixes for connection problems in the 13.0 efixes higher than the one you are running.

The line where it fails is when it calls the main connect function in ODBC so there is a very good chance that the error is occuring in ODBC rather than SQL assistant.