Why is TeraData JDBC complaining about these parameters?

Connectivity
t_t
Fan

Why is TeraData JDBC complaining about these parameters?

I have a SQL such as this:

String sql = "SELECT <columns....> "+

" FROM <table/views ....> "+

"WHERE a.GEOA_SPATIAL.ST_SPHERICALDISTANCE (NEW ST_GEOMETRY('POINT (? ?)')) < ?";

PreparedStatement stmt = conn.prepareStatement(sql);

stmt.setString(1, obj.getLongitude());
stmt.setString(2, obj.getLatitude());
stmt.setString(3, obj.getRadius());

And then when I run this code it complains about:

Parameter index value 2 is outside the valid range of 1 through 1 teradata

I dont understand what it's complaining about, this is standard JDBC functionality....

If I actually substitute the ?'s with the string without using the setString to replace them then it works fine. It doesnt like JDBC doing the replace.

7 REPLIES
Junior Supporter

Re: Why is TeraData JDBC complaining about these parameters?

Hi.

I'm not an expert in java/JDBC but :

The single quotes are considered LITERALS. You need to construct the string with concatenations.

Something like

String sql = "SELECT <columns....> "+

" FROM <table/views ....> "+

"WHERE a.GEOA_SPATIAL.ST_SPHERICALDISTANCE (NEW ST_GEOMETRY('POINT ("+

Longitude+

" "+

Latitude+

")')) < "+

Radius+

" ";

(Not tested)

HTH.

Cheers.

Carlos.

Teradata Employee

As Carlos said, the argument for the ST_Geometry constructor is a character literal.

Question marks in a character literal are simply question mark characters. Question marks in a character literal are not considered to be parameter markers.

You have two choices:

1. Compose the ST_Geometry constructor argument as a Java String within your Java application, as Carlos showed. (No parameter markers in this solution.)

2. Or use question mark parameters within a SQL character concatenation expression, as shown below:

String sql = "SELECT <columns....> "

+ " FROM <table/views ....> "