Database per object type -- Best practice or over engineered?

Database

Database per object type -- Best practice or over engineered?

Hi there.

I am an application developer (not a DBA), and we have a large OLAP Teradata database that we are writing a multi-tier application against.  I am brand new to Teradata.

Our Teradata data warehouse schema seems overly complicated.  All views must go into one database, all procs into another, all macros into a third, and all actual data goes in a fourth.  This is per environment, so these four databases must exist for the typical dev, test, qa, and production instances of the application.  The names of these databases are determined by the DBAs and so far follow no automatically recognizable pattern, so it cannot be assumed that in the Dev environment, our app's procs should SELECT against, say, the OURAPPNAME_DATA_DEV database.  There are also the more typical security rules, such as SELECTS are only granted to views (not tables) and insert/updates can only occur via procs or macros.  This means database name hardcoding must occur when promoting our application from one domain to the next, which kills automated deployment and adds risk, or a lookup into an environment table must occur each time a proc or view is run so it can "discover" the name of the data database, which is very expensive. 

Is "all views in a views DB, all procs in a procs DB, all data in a data DB, and DB names follow no pattern" really a Teradata best practice?  If it is, please explain the why the trade-off leans towards the DBA's routine tasks (easier backup & recovery?) vs. the overhead this creates for multi-tiered applications (not just adhoc queryers).

Maybe I should be asking what the Best Practice is for me to safely account for all this. 

Thanks in advance.

7 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Database per object type -- Best practice or over engineered?

"DB names follow no pattern" is not a Teradata best practice.