Difference Between Restore Job and Copy Job

Database
Enthusiast

Difference Between Restore Job and Copy Job

Hi,

I am not sure if this is the right place to post my question.

Anyway, I am new to Teradata. I use NetVault to restore and backup the data onto tapes.

Now my question is: How can I be dead sure that when I have to make a Restore Job and when I have to make a Copy Job?

What is the difference between the 2?

A simple scenario would further explain the point I am trying to get across:

The client requested to restore the data from a previous date (A simple backup job for backing up the data for the current date was made).

Now I searched around and since the client mentioned "restore the data" I was pretty sure that it was going to be a fairly simple Restore Job.

A colleague of mine suggested that it was not the case, what I had to do was to delete all the tables of the destination database and copy the contents of the previous dated backup into the now empty container, thus creating a Copy Job.

This has me stumped, what am I to do?

Also let me add, that during the backup, a very small table was skipped due to being in the state of MLoad/FLoad.

Any suggestions and comments would be most appreciated.

Tags (2)
6 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Difference Between Restore Job and Copy Job

In my opinion its just a matter of understanding .... which that situation at hand may be the best thing was to copy and not restore. Technically they are 3 different things to achieve same purpose .... so better to ask this question to your colleague and get on same definition/understanding level.

Regards, Adeel

Enthusiast

Thanks Adeel for your comment and input.

Now can you tell me what is the difference between "Copy Job" and "Restore Job"?

In your experience, when would you make a copy job and when would you make a restore job?

Maybe I can learn from what you have done in the past.

Cheers!

Enthusiast

Below is the difference between the two:

Restore Job: