Find table size and last access date

Database

Find table size and last access date

Hello,

I am still learning TD so I apologize if this is an 'easy' one. I need the following information so I can see if there are any old tables I can drop to reclaim space. I think I need to join DBC.Tables and DBC.TableSize but having issues doing so. I would like to see tables from multiple databases, but if I have to do it one-by-one then that is fine. Any help is appreciated!

DatabaseName

TableName

CreatorName

LastAccessTimeStamp

CurrentPerm(mb)

Thanks

8 REPLIES
Senior Apprentice

Re: Find table size and last access date

What do you mean by "issues"?

You should simply join on (DatabaseName, TableName).

Dieter

Enthusiast

Hi,

We have tablename & Databasename in both dbc.tables & dbc.tablesize. Please find the Code, that will give you the Tablename,Databasenaem,Creatorname,Lastaccesstimestamp & Currentperm.

sel b.databasename,a.tablename,a.CreatorName,a.CreateTimeStamp,a.LastAccessTimeStamp,sum(currentperm)/(1024*1024)  from dbc.tables a
inner join
dbc.tablesize b
on a.tablename=b.tablename
and a.databasename=b.databasename
group by 1,2,3,4,5
;

Thanks & Regards,

Adharssh.

Thanks for the replies, this helped.

Enthusiast

Hi Dieter/Adharssh,

I checked earlier too but all the  entries of lastaccesstimestamp in dbc.tables comes as null in my application..

Is there any way to activate it or is it automatic ?

Cheers!

Nishant 

Enthusiast

I think you need to activate ObjectUseCountCollectRate in DBS control utility...

Excellent - this is exactly what I was looking for.

- Joshua

Enthusiast

All,

ObjectUseCountCollectRate is enabled(>0), Usecount is also enabled, but still i could find LastAccesstimestamp= null for few tables in a DB.

I observed if a table is defined on a NOPI, then LastAccesstimestamp=NULL, Somebody correct me here please.

Teradata Employee