How is the Node Decided

Database
Enthusiast

How is the Node Decided

Hi,

I am new to teradata and reading the Teradata Architecture. I understand the concept of nodes and AMP. But I am unbale to figure out, when I am running an SQL Query, how does the Physical Bynet decide which Node to go to for the processing(assuming there are 2 or more nodes in my teradata instance). Also, can my data reside in mutiple nodes. I understand that there will be disks attached to the nodes. 

Grateful for an elaborate explanation on this.

Regards,

Mithun

Tags (1)
5 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: How is the Node Decided

Hi Mithun,

It's all about the Primary Index.  Teradata uses a fixed hash map to determine where to put each row, based upon the hash result of the primary index column(s). 

The parsing engine uses the query and it's knowledge of the data, including distribution and statistics to determine the least cost execution plan to resolve the query.

The bynet handles communication but doesn't play a part in determining what form that communication is, all-amp, group-amp, single-amp, etc...

Data in a table is spread across the amps via the PI hash map.  The measure of data storage balance across the amps is called data skew.  While a lot of new teradata developers latch on to the idea that the PI should uniquely identify every row, guaranteeing even data distribution, in a lot of instances that can hurt query performance. 

The Primary index is NOT the same as a primary key.  You will find a lot of tables in a robust Teradata system that have Non-Unique Primary Index (NUPI)and a Unique Secondary Index (USI).

The NUPI is designed to define the most common access path to the table.  Yes distribution skew is a concern, after all it's a parallel environment and we want to maximise the use of it's resources.  There are various 'rules of thumb' for acceptable data skew, I generally try to adhere to 25% or less.