How to define an array of varchars in Stored Procedure Language?

Database

How to define an array of varchars in Stored Procedure Language?

Hello to everybody,

I'm studying a migration from Oracle PL-SQL to Teradata Stored Procedure Language and I'm having problems trying to find a way to declare an array of varchars inside procedures/functions.

Oracle already has a type "dbms_sql.varchar2_table" and I just have to declare an instance and use it, and you don't even have to specify a length. Also I have the alternative of creating my own type "TYPE array_cadena is table of varchar2(252) index by binary_integer" and instance it afterwards as well.

I've seen that a type "SYSUDTLIB.array_strings" exists, but I have problems with it (I can't declare an instance inside the procedure/function; if I do it outside, I have problems of UDTUSAGE access; etc...).

Any help with it?

Thanks and best regards

Juan
20 REPLIES
N/A

Re: How to define an array of varchars in Stored Procedure Language?

Arrays in Teradata must be defined/created before you can use them, I know that's annoying.

If "SYSUDTLIB.array_strings" doesn't match your needs you must CREATE a new array type. Your user needs a UDTTYPE grant on SYSUDTLIB to be able to CREATE TYPE and UDTUSAGE on SYSUDTLIB (or the specific type) to instance/use it.

Btw, you should double check if you really need arrays, in lots of cases PL-SQL logic can/should be rewritten using set-based logic, see George Coleman's blog

Thanks for the answer.

About what I wrote on my post, I have to say that the type "SYSUDTLIB.array_strings" is one that I created myself, it doesn't exist by default, sorry for the mistake.

Anyway, I proceeded to create my new array type:

CREATE TYPE SYSUDTLIB.array_strings AS VARCHAR(252) ARRAY[9];

And i gave to the user all the privileges you told me:

GRANT UDTTYPE ON SYSUDTLIB TO user_novatd;

GRANT UDTUSAGE ON SYSUDTLIB TO user_novatd;

In the procedure code I have the following:

[...]