How to read all data from a large table with minimum locking

Database
Enthusiast

How to read all data from a large table with minimum locking

Hi all, 

I'm new to TD and quite new to databases. 

I need to periodically scan all data in my TD. The goal is to make it fast and with minimum locking, so that other transations does not have to wait or waiting time is minimized. I completely don't care about data considency and allow dirty reads.

What I did so far was simply to iterate over whole table by paginating the whole table by 10000 rows, using something like:
LOCK ROW FOR ACCESS  TOP page_size SELECT * FROM table WHERE index_column > last_index_value ORDER BY index_column 

This approach does not work for large tables with no unique index. I noticed queries with ORDER BY clause and WHERE on index column run very long - probably whole table scan (not really sure why). Such query exceeds the spool space if the table size is bigger than max spool size. 

I looked at FastExport tool but not sure how it performs locking - the documentation mentions that the lock is kept until all data from the query is moved to the spool, so I guess this is not the ideal way. And also from what I understood I would need to do pagination myself. 

I'm trying to think of any other approach (not necessarily a SQL query) to achieve that. The schema of the tables to scan vary and I'd like to create something that will suit well all tables. 

Is there a way to do it well?

Thanks,

Marek

20 REPLIES
Apprentice

Re: How to read all data from a large table with minimum locking

Hi Marek,

Your query "LOCK ROW FOR ACCESS  TOP page_size SELECT * FROM table WHERE index_column > last_index_value ORDER BY index_column" will often do a full  table scan (FTS) each time you execute it UNLESS the 'index_column' is a numeric data type and/or this column is defined as the PPI of the table.