How to retrieve the Relative Record Number?

Database
Fan

How to retrieve the Relative Record Number?

Hi,

I am Very New to Teradata. I was wondering how to retrieve the Relative Record Number for a row in a table.  I have used RRN before but it doesn't seem to work in Teradata. Here is my code to find bad dates. The column BLANK8 is a numeric date in YYYYMMDD format. Any help would be appreciated.

SELECT Cast(Cast(t.blank8 as format'9(6)') as char(8)), rrn(ji_core_v.keeph)  FROM

ji_core_v.keepH T

where not exists(Select *

From SYS_CALENDAR.CALENDAR C

where Cast(Cast(t.blank8 as format'9(6)') as char(8)) = C.CALENDAR_DATE (FORMAT 'YYYYMMDD' ) (CHAR(8)));

12 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: How to retrieve the Relative Record Number?

Have you tried ROW_NUMBER function?

Fan

Doesn't ROW_NUMBER just provide the position in the return result set not the actual row position in the table?

Junior Contributor

There's is no "row position" in a relational table, looks like you worked on a mainframe DB2 before, afaik it's using VSAM flat files.

The closest match is a ROWNUM on Oracle or the Standard SQL ROW_NUMBER in most RDBMSes.

Why do you think you need it?

What are you trying to achieve?

Dieter

Enthusiast

If I understood you correctly, then below solution would solve your problem.

SELECT a.blank8, b.rownum
(
SELECT
-- add PK ,
CAST(CAST(t.blank8 AS FORMAT'9(6)') AS CHAR(8))
FROM ji_core_v.keepH T
WHERE NOT EXISTS(SELECT *
FROM SYS_CALENDAR.CALENDAR C
WHERE CAST(CAST(t.blank8 AS FORMAT'9(6)') AS CHAR(8)) = C.CALENDAR_DATE (FORMAT 'YYYYMMDD' ) (CHAR(8))
)
) a

INNER JOIN
(
SELECT
-- add PK,
CAST(CAST(t.blank8 AS FORMAT'9(6)') AS CHAR(8)),
ROW_NUMBER() OVER (ORDER BY /*whatever you want to order by*/) rownum
FROM ji_core_v.keepH T
) b
ON a.blank8 = b.blank8
AND /*a.PK = b.PK*/
Fan

Hi,