Inputs needed to determine primary index

Database
Enthusiast

Inputs needed to determine primary index

Hi All,

I am a beginner on Teradata and am involved in an exploration to figure out what it would take to migrate an existing system based on Informatica PC+Oracle to Informatica PC+Teradata. I am trying to understand some guidelines or best practices in determining primary index for tables - I understand this is an optimization exercise to maximize data distribution while trying to use fewer columns, using those that are used for querying often are recommended.

Following is a case using which I would like to get your thoughts so i get a clear picture. Let's say I have a table which has 20 columns, 8 of them together (all varchar/string datatype) can act as a primary key. The data volume can range between 1 million to 1 billion (the table is part of a generic application that can be used with varying data volumes)

The options I have for choosing primary index are:

Option 1: Use a combination of 3 columns (let's say A, B, C) that will always be used to query data but are highly non unique (between 40 to 1000 distinct values)
Pros: will help retrieve data faster
Cons: data storage would be skewed and all AMPs may not be used in some cases - adversely affecting the data retrieval performance

Option 2: Use a combination of 2 columns (let's say D, E - entirely different from earlier option) that are highly unique
Pros: will distribute data evenly
Cons: both columns not used too frequently for querying

Option 3: Use a combination of 5 columns (A, B, C, D, E) - highly unique together
Pros: data distribution will be great
Cons: Only 3 out of 5 columns are frequently used in querying so may not be a big help there (can gather stats or create secondary indexes on the columns, if necessary), also 5 columns will be used to define index (not sure how much impact this has)