Installed but could not use it

Database

Installed but could not use it

Hello All,

I'm new to Teradata but have been working on other RDBMSs (oracle, SQLserver, & MS Access) for several years. I installed Terdata Express Edition 12.0 recently on personal Desktop system Windows XP. Then, I configured it to the best of my understanding as described on one of the documents I found on the web (TeradataClinet4.pdf) below is what I did:

1. Modified hosts file
2. setup environment variables
3. modified Clispb file

Using BTEQ I tried to view the tables. Although I did not create user, I used the username and password the document shows: " .logon teradata/john" password "johnpass" hoping it knows that user by default. The result I received is not good.

" **** Warning DBS crushed or Session Reset - Recovery in progress>"

with this error message it sits there forever.

I tried to see if I can find a tutorial book or document that can help me learn as a beginer and could not find one.

Finally, I decided to turn to asking you men and women of the Teradata experts to help me get Teradata up and running. Please respond me with instructions and/or locating a book I can refer to or even a number I can call and have someone assist me on this. I'm wasting a lot of hours and could not move an inch from where I was when I first installed which is a week or so ago.

Thank you in advance for your assistance

8 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Installed but could not use it

You may be running into the infamous Windows DEP feature. Look in the Windows Event Log to see if a memory access exception was logged. Check out this URL for a detailed explanation of DEP:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/875352

In order to run Teradata, you will need to disable this feature.

Edit c:\boot.ini, look for "/noexecute=" and change the parameter value after "=" to "alwaysoff". The file should like something like this:

[operating systems]