LT,WT,ET,UV tables

Database
Enthusiast

LT,WT,ET,UV tables

In our Application work ( I am new to Teradata), we are loading our mainframe files data into a staging area first using MLOAD and then from there we are loading into our final tables using a BTEQ. those are all monthly updations. Next time before laoding into staging tables they are dropping LT, WT, ET and UV and deleting the previous month data in staging table and then loading the fresh data.

My doubt is what are these LT,WT,ET,UV tables and what are the uses of these.
18 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: LT,WT,ET,UV tables

No offense, in one hand you are saying you are new to Teradata but your signature says you are Teradata Certified Designer. By the way, there is no certification called Teradata Certified Designer .. and if you meant Teradata Certified Design Architect then any one would be surprised that you donot know what is UV,ET & WT in Mload.

You may please refer to this link to download Mload manual :
http://www.info.teradata.com/DataWarehouse/eTeradata-BrowseBy-Results.cfm?pl=&PID=&title=%25&release=&kword=CMLOD&sbrn=7&nm=MultiLoad
Enthusiast

I think you are talking about work tables (WT),Error Tables(ET),UV tables- (another error table that stores data with uniqueness violations) and Log Table(LT).Multiload uses these tables for processing the load operation into target table

A log table maintains record of all checkpoints related to the load job, it is essential/madatory to specify a log table in mload job. This table will be useful in case you have a job abort or restart due to any reason.

Error tables store information related to the errors.There are two error tables used by Multiload ET nd UV

Multiload operates in 5 phase initial,DML,Aquisition,Application and cleanup. after intial and DML phases,It first populates the work tables in aquisition phase.The data from source files is first populated into WT in aquisition phase and later on applied to target tables in application.