Loading to the same target table simultaneously

Database
Enthusiast

Loading to the same target table simultaneously

Hi All,

I am new to Teradata. I am facing an issue while trying to load to the same TD target table from multiple staging tables simultaneously. I searched the net but got confusing inputs. Please help me clarify what my options are regarding the following. We are using TD 15.

I want to load the same target table by reading from multiple staging tables simultaneously. For e.g. one job will read from source table StoreA and load (update/insert) to target table T. Simultaneously there will be another job that will read from staging table StoreB and load (insert/update) to the same target table T at the same time. I want both the jobs to run simultaneously and update/insert the target T without locking. There is no DELETE required. Here is what I think my options are :

1. Use TD T-Pump utility to load to the same target simultaneously. This will allow loads to the same table parallelly with Row-Hash level locking by different jobs . However I am unsure as to if we can use T-Pump to read from a TD Staging table instead of an input file. Also I am uncertain about the performance considerations.
  2. Use INSERT INTO /SELECT FROM .... to load (new records) simultaneously into the same table by both the jobs. However, will this lock the table and prevent the other job from writing simultaneously ?
  3. Use UPDATE to modify the target table (for changes records) simultaneously by both the jobs ? However, will this lock the table and prevent the other job from writing simultaneously ?
  4. Use ANSI MERGE to insert/update the same table simultaneously by multiple jobs running parallel. Would this option accomplish my requirement of updating/inserting the same table simultaneously by different jobs running parallelly ?