Loop a set of queries for a month and append the result in one file (Teradata)

Database

Loop a set of queries for a month and append the result in one file (Teradata)

Hi all ,

I am new to Teradata and i got a set of queries with dates in WHERE condition . All i need to do is run these set of queries (3 of them ) for a month.I did googled it and found that procudres are the way ahead. Buit  i dont know how to start with it . 

ex:

for date :'2018-01-09' 

sel * from etl.table where date_ext='2018-01-09' ;

sel * from etl.table_a where date_ext='2018-01-09' ;

sel * from etl.table_b where date_ext='2018-01-09' ;

------------------

for date :'2018-01-10' 

sel * from etl.table where date_ext='2018-01-10' ;

sel * from etl.table_a where date_ext='2018-01-10' ;

sel * from etl.table_b where date_ext='2018-01-10' ;

----------

1.i need to run the above query for one month giving with startdate and enddate as input.

2.after each loop  ,is it possible for me to create the result set  in one single file . for example ,i will be having 3  anserwsheets when i excute for a single date.now i  want all results of each date  to be appended in  one file with proper seggregation.is it possible ?

Please  help me with the logic and  the query structure  :)

Thanks & Regards

Accepted Solutions
Junior Contributor

Re: Loop a set of queries for a month and append the result in one file (Teradata)

Looks like you're usng SQL Assistant to send your Selects, there's no way to do loops in SQLA.

You might put the Select(s) in a Macro with a Date parameter and run it using a Named Parameter, which is prompted once when you press F5, enter '2018-01-10' (including the quotes):

EXEC myMacro(?indate);

Then cut&paste this 30 times and modify the input:

EXEC myMacro(?indate +1);

EXEC myMacro(?indate +2);

Or do it all from Excel (I'm not an Excel pro, so don't ask me how):

Press a button, connect to Teradata, submit your three queries for the full range of date.