Mapping Values from many to one relationship to a one to one relationship

Database
Enthusiast

Mapping Values from many to one relationship to a one to one relationship

Hi Guys,

I am brand new to Teradata and writing advanced queries (with data munipulation).  I just got out of school.

I have a column with a corporate code and a column with a descprition to that corporate code.  The problem is each corporate code (which is a number) has many descriptions which all mean bassically the same thing.  It would be really helpful if I could have a column that maps a the corporate code to a concatination of all the descriptions.  I think I may need to use a recursive SQL statement?  I'm not sure.  The other problem is that all of the descriptions have about 10 to 30 spaces after the value, which I will need to get rid of.  Normally I would solve this problem by turning the data to a csv and writing some python.  That said, being in the teradata environment that is not feasible.

Currrently:

Corp_ID                      ID_Description
1                                   Apple                          (each have spaces after them)
1                                   Fuji                           (each have spaces after them)
1                                   Grannysmith                       (each have spaces after them)
2                                   Banana                             (each have spaces after them)
2                                   Plantain                         (each have spaces after them)
2                                   Burro                                                (each have spaces after them)
...                                  ...

Ideally:

Corp_ID                      ID_Description
1                                   Apple, Fuji, Grannysmith   (with no auxiliary sapces)
2                                   Banana, Plantain, Burro    (with no auxiliary sapces)
...                                  ...