Relation between Database and Users

Database
Enthusiast

Relation between Database and Users

Hi to all,

I'm not a teradata expert and I have a doubt. Can anyone of you help me?

From official documentation I read the following definition:

"A database and a user are almost identical in Teradata Database. The major difference is that a user can log on to the system whereas the database cannot."

My doubt is: what's the point/sense of creating an alone database (without any user) if it cannot log on to the system?

So, in the above definition it is understood that to any database has associated at least one user and viceversa!!

Is it right?

thanks.

16 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Relation between Database and Users

"what's the point/sense of creating an alone database (without any user) if it cannot log on to the system?"

Only a user can create a database, therefore all databases have an associated user.

Access to a database and it's tables can then be granted to other users. 

Rglass

Enthusiast

I think you will come to know the difference when you implement the scenarios like temporary, volatile tables and querying and you can check your space allocated.

You can refer to this link too

eg

CREATE DATABASE def FROM abc AS

PERM=...

SPOOL=...

TEMPORARY=...

NO BEFORE JOURNAL

NO AFTER JOURNAL

CREATE USER ghi FROM kkk AS

PASSWORD=kkkkk

PERM=0

SPOOL=0

TEMPORARY=0

Enthusiast

Glass Wrote: Access to a database and its tables can then be granted to other users.

e.g., what you say is:  Immagine there are users A, B and C in the teradata DB. User A create database D.

Access to a database and its table can be granted to users B and C also. Is it right?

If so, now my question is

.... And who can access to an user? (What are the users who can be granted to access to an user?)

-) Surely the user itself.

-) ... and Who else?

eg: Immagine there are users A, B and C in the teradata DB. User A create user D.

My question now is: who can access to a user D?