Relationships between the tables

Database
Enthusiast

Relationships between the tables

I am very new to teradata and cannot find the proper way to create my database. I have an Access database and migrating the tables and relationships to teradata and leaving the front-end in Access for end user usage. I have created my tables with the create table SQL and noted my primary keys in the tables. I have a main table that uses data from all my other tables. Example

program table, state table, product table (there are more than just this) then a qualmain table.

The tables have data that never changes. The changes are only in the qualmain table. So, there is a PK in the program table and then prog_nm and prog_desc. The PK is prog_id and that is in my qualmain table. It is the same scenario with my other tables. So if I were to query I have a relationship between prog_id in program table and prog_id in qualmain. I hope this is making sense. This way all my queries and forms perform the way they should and it all works great in Access. But, I need a way for users to use my front-end and it connect to a backend and this is why they want me to migrate to Teradata.

So.......being a complete newbie to teradata and knowing SQL queries, I am not sure how to set up relationships within the tables. I am thinking that is where index comes in but cannot find any help documents in terastudio that make any bit of sense. It is a bit vague. Then I cannot find any example on how I build a relationship or in this case an index. Can someone provide some links to help me understand what I am to do so my end result is creating an ODBC so I can use the front-end in Access in conjunction with the teradata backend?  I am assuming I leave my queries in Access as well. My VBA code I assume stays in the Access front-end too.

3 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Relationships between the tables