Seeking ideas: need to grab next available UPI for inserts

Database
Enthusiast

Seeking ideas: need to grab next available UPI for inserts

Hello,

I am a developer hoping to get some help with ideas to devise an elegant way of grabbing the next available Unique Primary Index for inserts to a table which is quite old and large that drives an ASP.Net application which I am maintaining. Details for the change I have to make are below:

The UPI is an integer and can be possible values from 000,000,001 to 999,999,999. Previously, the first 3 digits were determined by a code from another column (001-999), therefore the lowest existing value is 001,000,000. I am making a change to decouple the code from the UPI, so for future values of this UPI after I make the change the first value will be 000,000,001, and after the first 1,000,000 inserts we will run into duplicates if we simply keep incrementing by 1.

Therefore I need a way of grabbing the next available value.

This table will be written to by the ASP.Net application which calls a stored procedure in Teradata to make the inserts.

I have been told that the best way to do this is a function to grab the value and call it from ASP.Net and then pass the value to the stored procedure, but I wanted to see if I could get any other ideas to consider as well, because I don't like the idea of looping through with a function. The highest block of consecutive numbers I found is 250 which would have to be looped through.

I thought of perhaps having a reference table that just holds values 000,000,001-999,999,999 and then do an outer join on the UPI and grab the top 1 null from the existing tables, but I'm not sure if this could be set up to avoid being too expensive. Also, my team is telling me to avoid making a new table at all costs.

Thanks for any help or ideas from out there.

9 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Seeking ideas: need to grab next available UPI for inserts

Hi,

#Option 1