Teradata Max Across Multiple Columns

Database
Fan

Teradata Max Across Multiple Columns

Hi,

I need some help with some code below; I'm relatively new to Teradata SQL Assistant (vs: 13) - sample data below:

Customer   Number      Date         Time           Seq         Agent            Phone         Update Date            Last Call             Last Time

A                123          10/1/13       11:51        5              AA                    1                12/1/01                  10/1/13               11:53

A                123          10/2/13       10:00        8              BB                    3                12/2/01                  10/2/13                9:00

B                456          11/29/13     1:15          10            AA                    1                9/8/07                    11/28/13              1:30

B                456          11/28/13     8:23           8             CC                    2                9/8/00                   11/29/13               8:50

I need to look across the columns and rows where the customer is the same and select the max date, the corresponding time to that date, the corresponding seq, agent, phone and update date. The update date needs to be <= the date and the last call and last time need to be >= the date.

So for customer A - answer would be date 10/1/13, time 11:51, seq 5, agent AA, phone 1, update date 12/1/01, last call 10/1/13 and last time 11:53.

Customer B answer would be date 11/28/13, time 8:23, seq 8, agent CC, phone 2, update date 9/8/00, last call 11/29/13 and last time 8:50

Thanks for your help!

Tags (3)
2 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Teradata Max Across Multiple Columns

Hi,

I have not tested this but I hope it will work for you.

SELECT CUSTOMER, NUMBER, 

MAX(DATE) OVER(PARTITION BY NUMBER ORDER BY DATE DESC) AS MAX_DT,

MAX(TIME) OVER(PARTITION BY NUMBER, DATE ORDER BY DATE DESC) AS MAX_TIME,

MAX(Seq) OVER(PARTITION BY NUMBER,DATE,TIME ORDER BY DATE DESC) AS SEQ,