Teradata Service not starting

Database

Teradata Service not starting

Folks,

I have installed Teradata 13.0 demo version on my machine. I installed the database as an administrator of the machine. After the install completed, I did restart the machine.
But when I logged back in as an administrator, i couldn't get the Terdata Service Control to start the database. It stalls at "PDE State:DOWN/HARDSTOP"
I tried to manually start the service "Teradata Database Initiator" but that doesn't start as well.

I looked at the event viewer and I could see that there is an error related to this service starting. The error says "PDE Critical daemon recond(3580) no service file for pderecond1 port: WSAGetLastError(): 11004"

Any ideas on what is going wrong?

Thanks
K
Tags (1)
10 REPLIES

Re: Teradata Service not starting

I have the same issue, the other two services have started but the iniator service fails to start??

anyone else getting this issue??

N/A

Just installed the 13.0 demo version and experiencing the same issue. Any clue guys? were you able to figure out?
N/A

Hmmm ,,, I found that error when i upgraded from 12 to 13 without not fully remove the teradata. when I full completed removed the 12 installation and then instal the 13 .. everything seems ok
N/A

This is my first installation of teradata on this machine. Not sure what's going on. Any clues or suggestions?

I have installed teradata Tools and Utilities for Windows(td-ttu-13.10.00.00) but when ever i am trying to open SQL assistant and try to connect through ODBC connection{given ip(127.0.0.1) and username and password as dbc} then its giving the following error:-

0: WSA E HostUnreach: The Teradata server can't currently be reached over this network

Please help, i had installed and uninstall 5 or 6 times and uninstall my antivirus and turn off windows firewall as well then also its not working....