Unable to remove carriage returns and line feed from columns

Database
Enthusiast

Unable to remove carriage returns and line feed from columns

Hi All,

I am trying to select the data from a column for downstream without CR and LF.

But unable to do so.

I tried the following

select oTranslate(col, '0A0D'xc,'')

but it throws untranslatable character error.

So i tried to convert it into unicode and tried the below command,the command works but the data still has new line fields (CR and LF)

select oreplace(translate(load_hash_key_val using latin_to_unicode WITH ERROR),'0A0D'xc,' ') from table;

My requirement is simple,

I need to select the column after removing CR and LF from the column.

Note: The column has some hssh keys and hash values.

P.S I am not a Teradata developer, but i need this selection for downstream during sqoop import query:)

Hope someone help me out here. Thanks in Advance

Accepted Solutions
Teradata Employee

Re: Unable to remove carriage returns and line feed from columns

For your purposes, an OTRANSLATE (character by character replacement) seems more appropriate than OREPLACE (string search and replacement).

When you specify character literals in hex, it depends on your session character set as to whether the hex values are interpreted as Latin or Unicode, or you can explicitly specify the repertoire, e.g. _latin '0A'xc or _unicode '000A'xc. Note that string literal values are always Unicode, though, even if the input repertoire is Latin. And if any of the arguments to OTRANSLATE or OREPLACE is Unicode, then any Latin arguments will be implicitly translated to Unicode. 

One way to avoid Unicode translation would be to use CHR (which returns LATIN) for both the second and third arguments: otranslate(load_hash_key_val,chr(10)||chr(13),chr(32))