What's the quickest way to find out all the values under an attributes

Database
Enthusiast

What's the quickest way to find out all the values under an attributes

Hello all database gurus out there, I am a newbie in the database field and would like to thank each one of you in advance for helping out.

I have to pull some data for my manager, and this is the first time I use teradata sql assistant (fyi, it's version 7.1) My question is, is there anyway to find out the values of each field (attribute), before I make a query to run it? It's very time consuming, and the dictionary of the database does not provide this information.

For example,

Atrribute "CALL_TYPE" has value "TECH", "BO" and "OTR". I found out by using a query to select *. This is alright is I only have a few attributes, but I have over 30 attributes. Thank you very much for your help.
25 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: What's the quickest way to find out all the values under an attributes

You should probably ask your boss to get you some kind of data mining tool ... :o

Now if you are really stuck, the below SQL to "generate" all the required SQLs for you.

SELECT 'SELECT ' || TRIM(COLUMNNAME) || ' FROM ' || TRIM(DATABASENAME) || '.' || TRIM(TABLENAME) || ' GROUP BY 1 ORDER BY 1;'
FROM
(
SELECT DATABASENAME, TABLENAME, COLUMNNAME
FROM DBC.COLUMNS
WHERE DATABASENAME = 'myDBofInterest'
AND TABLENAME IN
(
'tableofInterest1'
,'tableofInterest2'
)
) X
ORDER BY DATABASENAME , TABLENAME, COLUMNNAME
;

From the o/p please run only those queries for attributes which are of genuine interest to you, don't run this especially on stuff like key columns (which should be of no interest to you), because these SQLs can be costly for highly unique attributes like keys... And your DBA could get mad at you (So don't mention me either ....).

Otherwise this will save you lot of typing ...

Enthusiast

Slight change to Joe's answer: