how to know the % table size growth/reduce in teradata

Database
Enthusiast

how to know the % table size growth/reduce in teradata

Hi,

I am new to TERADATA technology. Can anyone let me know how to know the % change in table size in teradata. Is there any specific query to identify the % change in table size ???

Or else is there any table (system/DBC) from which we will get the required result.

We need to find the % change in table size for every week/15days/month.

Kindly help me to get the required data.

Thanks in adavance.

Regards,

Deepak Dhabade

5 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: how to know the % table size growth/reduce in teradata

As such if you have the PDCR or SYS_MGMT enabled to hold the historical query log related data, you will see a table tablespace_hst which gives the associated information at a day level for all the tables in all the databases.

Fan

Hi Deepak,

I am unsure about the tablespace_hst option mentioned above, but the following query should give you some direction towards the entire approach:

select

databasename

,tablename

,sum (currentperm)/(1024*1024*1024) as current_GB

from dbc.tablesize

where tablename = 'FLOWN_COUPON'

and databasename = 'TEST_MOSAIC_DB'

group by 1,2

order by 1,2

I am not sure if there are dbc tables which store the % change in table size, hence, you will need to create a table of your own with a date field to store the results of the query above and then calculate the % change on your own.

Hope this helps!

Regards,

Shreya

Enthusiast

If you don't have a tool, then you can resort to using scripts(linux, perl, python etc) which will do computation.Then you can schedule your scripts as per your requirement using schedulers.

Sample query to see space:

select sum(currentperm) actualspace, max(currentperm)*(hashamp()+1) effective_space from dbc.tablesize

where databasename = 'yourdb' and tablename = 'yourtblname';

Cheers,

Enthusiast

Thanks a lot for your valuable suggestions :-)