transaction details if the same transaction has multiple status with same file name

Database
The Teradata Database channel includes discussions around advanced Teradata features such as high-performance parallel database technology, the optimizer, mixed workload management solutions, and other related technologies.
Fan

transaction details if the same transaction has multiple status with same file name

Hi Guys,

I am new to Teradata, working on SQL assist. We receive daily file from third party, we want to validate if same transaction has multiple status for same file.

Ex: TRX         Status        File Name

123           A                  ABC01192018

123          C                  ABC01192018

This scenario should be failed in validation. Your help would be appreciated. Thank you!

6 REPLIES
Junior Contributor

Re: transaction details if the same transaction has multiple status with same file name

If cou simply want to know which TRX/FileName combination has multiple Status values:

select TRX, FileName
from tab
group by 1,2
having count(distinct Status) > 1

DISTINCT leads to two aggregate steps, in your case you can also use 

select TRX, FileName
from tab
group by 1,2
having min(Status) <> max(Status) -- at least two different values

If you want to get the matching rows you can apply the same logic usinf Windowed Aggregates (which don't allow DISTINCT):

select *
from tab
group by 1,2
having min(Status) over (partition by TRX, FileName)
    <> max(Status) over (partition by TRX, FileName)

Fan

Re: transaction details if the same transaction has multiple status with same file name

Thanks Dnoeth, there can be multiple lines with status ='A'  this case is acceptable.

when there are multilple lines with status ='A' and <>'A' then it has to error out. This count would be more than one not restricted to any number.

at least two different values