Geospatial data into Teradata Database

Extensibility

Geospatial data into Teradata Database

Hi

I am new to GeoSpatial data, I need to load Shape files into Teradata database. Could you please let me know what all the pre requisite softwares/utilities needs to be installed for loading this shape files into database.

Also suggest me on how the (.SHP, .SHX & .DBF) files are related to derive the geospacial data
6 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Geospatial data into Teradata Database

Hi,

Teradata has a free tool, TD GeoImport/Export, that translates Shape files into a format that can be stored in Teradata. You can find that here:

http://downloads.teradata.com/download/extensibility/teradata-geospatial

The following documentation provides more information about geospatial support:

• SQL Geospatial Types, B035-1181-098A, available from http://www.info.teradata.com
  • Teradata Spatial Release 13.0 User’s Guide, Teradata Orange Book 541-0007514, available when you register through Teradata @ Your Service from the Support Services link at http://www.teradata.com

Enthusiast

It looks like the TDGeoImport and GeoExport tools aren't available anymore.   What's the status on these ?

Thanks

Teradata Employee

Hi,

I am trying to use this tool, but get an error message ...

C:\Users\ML500000\Desktop\TDGeoImportExport>java -Xms256m -Xmx512m -classpath .;

"C:\Users\ML500000\Desktop\TDGeoImportExport\terajdbc4.jar";"C:\Users\ML500000\D

esktop\TDGeoImportExport\tdgssjava.jar";"C:\Users\ML500000\Desktop\TDGeoImportEx

port\tdgssconfig.jar";. com.teradata.geo.TDGeoImport -l tdlocal/sysdba,sysdba -s

sysdba -f C:\Users\ML500000\Desktop\StatPlanet_Germany\map\map.shp -n co99_d00

Error: Could not find or load main class com.teradata.geo.TDGeoImport

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Martin

Enthusiast

Hi Martin,

Did you solve this ?    

I see you're in C:\Users\ML500000\Desktop\TDGeoImportExport.  

The release notes say