A Wish List for future versions of Teradata.

General
Enthusiast

A Wish List for future versions of Teradata.

I read the forum enhancements wish list post and figured I would start one for teradata in general. I apologize, if this isn’t the place for it.

Is there a current wish list for new versions of Teradata? I've been using it for a few months now and I think it's become the most frustrating part of my job by far. I use MSSQL, ORACLE, etc with no issues but when I have to connect to our teradata data I always sigh...

Every day little things such as string to date conversions (specifically having to specify a ‘0’ in front of single digit months or days) are very annoying and seem like trivial things that everyone else in the industry solved years ago... why isn't teradata up to speed with common SQL function logic? 

6 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: A Wish List for future versions of Teradata.

Just ran into another from issue, when casting SMALLINT to varchar(2) why in the world does it add 5 leading spaces and force me to do a trim before concatinating the result of the cast?

Example:

new_month as smallint = 7

sel '0' || cast(new_month as varchar(2))

returns '0     7'

but triming...

sel '0' || trim(cast(new_month as varchar(2)))

returns correctly '07'

we can now use this month to cast a concatenated string to a date.

Senior Supporter

Hi,

the general place for Teradata enhancement request is

http://www.teradata-partners.com/ER/submit

Where it might be interesting to discuss new requirements in the forum as well but I guess finally you need to open an ER.

I personally would not support your specific request of allowing M/D/YYYY formats to avoid "having to specify a ‘0’ in front of single digit months" but this is out of my business. This MM/DD or DD/MM is already a nightmare ;->.  Your issue can be overcome with a simple SQL UDF.