Any thoughts on my specific requirement?

General

Any thoughts on my specific requirement?

Hi All,

This is my first post and I am excited !!!. I am new to Teradata tools. I worked almost 8 years in SQL Server and Oracle but not on Teradata(only T-SQL).

I recently moved to a new company and working for a specific business team. IT Department provided us DataLab (TD 14) for us for any adhoc requirements. This department already has access to SQL Server and they generate reports using few denormalized tables from this SQL Server. I am not sure why they never IT to build these tables in DW.

Now, I was asked to move them to Teradata Datalab. Sorry for being detailed.

Here is the requirement:

1) Everyday, we get 5 excel files in specific folder

2) Move these data to 5 Staging Tables

3) Populate the 3 De-normalized tables from these 5 Staging tables using some Stored Procedures which does all the transformations..

4) Delete the data from these 5 Staging Tables

5) Schedule this process daily to be automatic

In SQL Server, we used SSIS ETL tool and also SQL Server Agent Job to do this but how can this be done in Teradata with access to Teradata Load Utilities tools (MLOAD,FastLOAD..)

Any Suggestions to get this approach working automatically daily once?

Thanks,

nath

5 REPLIES
Senior Apprentice

Re: Any thoughts on my specific requirement?

Hi Nath,

what's your SSIS release?

You should be able to modify your existing SSIS workflow to load to TD instead of SS, there's a MS Connector for TD at http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=29283

Those Stored Procedures are SS SPs? Depending on the complexity you can probably rewrite them as TD SPs or even TD Macros.

Thanks Dieter. They are planning to remove the SQL Server. As our team is maintaining this enviornment without IT team involvement, they are not willing to do the required migration or support for us. They only provided us Teradata Datalab.