Join Index with derived tables or subquery

General

Join Index with derived tables or subquery

I am new to teradata .I am trying to improve the performance of one long running query . The query has derived table but it  is not allowing me to create JI . It seems that if query have derived table /sub query/analytical function like Qualify , teradata doesn't allow to create JI . I am not sure whether am I doing any thing wrong here . Is there any limitations for Join Index.

9 REPLIES

Re: Join Index with derived tables or subquery

Hello there,

It is not always true that the solution to improve the performance of your long running query is create a JI. If you think you have evaluated all options of tuning and only left with JI then definitely the community can help you. Did you try the statistics, query rewrite for some bad coding practice and possible Join indexes? Coming to your question - you cannot have a derived table, subquery or a QUALIFY.

if you need to filter have it make a sparse index and not sure for it being a covered query have the row ID reference in it or make it a global join index. Send the syntax may be someone of us can help you.

Thanks vasu.

I have two scenario.I tried many things with my DA and  thought Join Index can help.

1. I have one big table it may have 100 million records and have 3  medium size table that  have 1 million records.

My first table is partitioned and have PI on Acct_id,security_id . And my 3 other tables have PI on security.When I do left join with these three tables , distribution is happening and hence I chose JI for this case.

2.  SEL   ACCT_ID, client_id,SNPS_DT

, SUM(AMT))

FROM MAIN_TABLE

WHERE SNPS_DT >= CAST(EXTRACT(YEAR FROM CURRENT_DATE) || '-01-01' AS DATE FORMAT 'yyyy-mm-dd')

AND client_id ='C01'

QUALIFY SNPS_DT = MIN(SNPS_DT) OVER (PARTITION BY acct_id)

GROUP BY 1, 2,3;