Site does not seem to work under IE6

General
Enthusiast

Site does not seem to work under IE6

I know IE 6 is old and past its best, it does not support some of the whizzbang CSS stylings etc.
I am a web developer in another life, and hate having to make sites IE6 compatible, but it is a commercial reality.

We are a large corparate, who seem to be looking to roll out teradata to many sites, but we use IE6, and are only slowly upgrading.

I find the new site very slow to refresh the screen and slow to navigate, also some functionality does not work ("More formatting options" below for instance) and text is often obscured by floating panels on some screens. It constantly complains about missing updates required at the top, but in most corparate environments you cannot upgrade components easily. I find that around 35% of users still use IE6 /7 , with large corparates using significantly more IE than others.

Are other users having issues.

Disappointed.
6 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Site does not seem to work under IE6

I cleared the Cache out on this PC, and hid the show features bar on the top, it seems to work much better now, but the "missing updates bar" that IE throws up wants only to update to IE8.

I do like the site though, there are some interesting articles in here.

I see from the Style sheets that it does detect the IE6 browser and take evasive action. I have put in a requistion to get IE7!
Teradata Employee

Random_Thought,

They are still working on getting this site completely IE6 compatible. There are a few kinks that still need to be worked out. Keep in mind that this is still a beta site.

Have a great day!
Teradata Employee