Teradata Lock - 3 Insert Statements

General
Enthusiast

Teradata Lock - 3 Insert Statements

Hi All,

I am new to teradata and reading about Teradata Locks. I have a specific question related to locking.

I have 3 or more processes which can run simultaneously and try to insert data in the same table. As such, I think there can be an issue as the process which runs first will hold a WRITE Lock and will not allow the other processes to insert data in that table. But, the real question is, will the other processes wait till the LOCK is released(i.e., the 1st process completes the insert) and then in a fashion(not sure what that is - whether round robin or a queue in queue out mechanism) insert the records in the target table.

Any help in this is much appreciated as I am currently stuck up with this issue.

Thanks

Mithun

Tags (1)
8 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Teradata Lock - 3 Insert Statements

Yes it has to wait till other process completes: LOCKING ROW FOR WRITE is used to lock row for write.

Deadlock can occur  when two PI SELECTs are followed by PI UPDATES and the SELECTs are on different row-hashes.

Cheers,

Raja

Enthusiast

Hi,

This is a basic transactional processing mechanism that every database adopts to avoid deadlocks. If multiple statements are trying to write the same object they will be processed sequentially.

For muliamp requests, teradata uses the concept of pseudo table locks in order to avoid deadloacks.

Khurram
Enthusiast

Thanks Raja and Khurram for your response. But, I want a more specific answer as to whether the lock will be automatically released and whether I have to write a piece of code for it. Let me demonstrate with an example.

Say there are 4 processes running simultaneously which wants to insert data into target Table A.

Process P1 acquires a write lock first and thus other processes P2,P3 and P4 will have to wait.