5 Things Software Developers Love about Aster

Learn Aster
Teradata Employee

I have been programming computers since I was 12 years old.  I always loved the ability to build something and watch it work almost immediately.  I first started off with an Apple IIc computer writing pascal, basic, and C programs.  I loved it so much that I wanted to build a career out of it and 35 years later here I am, still writing code today.  Much of my professional programming experience has included embedding ANSI SQL into my efforts.  If you are building an OLTP transaction system or a Business Intelligence application you are more than likely using ANSI SQL.  Then I stumbled upon Aster and found that the game changed.  These are the 5 big reasons why software developers love Aster:  ASTER-SQL, DATA, PIVOT, DELIVERY, and DIY (Do it yourself).

The 5 Reasons Why Software Developers Love Aster:

1.   ASTER SQL:  Love ANSI SQL, then you will love ASTER SQL!

ANSI SQL is one of the most powerful languages in computing.  It is great for ACID transactions, performing analysis, securing data, and building objects.  Most transaction system utilize ANSI SQL to perform updates, deletes, and inserts of data into relational systems.  Aster allows you to use and leverage ANSI SQL just like any relational database does.  Aster also comes with its own SQL based functions:  SQL-MR and SQL-GR.  For the purposes of this document we will just call it ASTER SQL.  There are 100+ Aster SQL functions built into Aster.  The syntax for these functions is fairly simple to learn.  An example: