Journey of a High School Senior using Aster

Learn Data Science
Not applicable

My journey with Aster began with the book Blown to Bits. I became fascinated with the vast amount of data and the numerous possibilities to harness that data. Then, I got a chance to volunteer at the Scientific Python conference in Austin, Texas, earlier in the summer of 2015 and that was the big turning point for me. That’s when I began my research. I got my start with Big Data on a website called BigML.com. I graduated my way to the Teradata Aster analytics software because I needed a platform that would allow me to load gigabytes of data and provide advanced analytics capability but would also be available at no cost.

Watch The Video:

My curious attitude led me to start my independent research journey. Ever since the SciPy conference I was inspired to leverage data and information to find solutions in interdisciplinary fields. My enthusiasm was quickly diffused when I learned that first I would need data. I was nervous about this since I had no idea where to begin. I started by using my trusted friend Google and did a quick search which gave me a list of open data sets. I had all these ideas about things I wanted to do. I quickly landed on two topics that I thought would be challenging yet allow me to provide some value to the community. I chose to focus on my research on Seismic Data set from USGS.gov and Crime Data from opendata.dc.gov

Problem was that I knew approximately 0% about how to use Teradata Aster Express. Thankfully, the Teradata Aster Community website from where I downloaded, Aster Express, the free version had helpful instructions on how to actually download and a link to the Youtube videos created by Mr. John Thuma. These videos along with the Aster community portal became my lifeline.