Teradata PRESTO data flow

Presto
HN
N/A

Teradata PRESTO data flow

Hi

We're integrating data from Teradata and Hadoop using Presto.

AS per open source presto's flow says,to run a unified query we need to conenct Presto client then Presto co-ordinator manage to read data from Data Source 1 and DataSource2 and so on   

Is the flow same in Teradata's Presto version, if my one of datasource is Teradata ?

Is there anyway we can hit the query from TD box and it will collect data from TD tables and Hadoop files?

Please ingone if something silli and I'm unable to explain well, I'm very new to Teradata and so Presto as well.    

3 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Teradata PRESTO data flow

HN, I am trying to understand exactly what you are asking. Are you attempting to query from Presto to Teradata? If so you will need the QueryGrid connector for Presto. The QG connector allows you to query from TD to Presto and from Presto to TD.  I have a description of the QG connector in this brochurehttp://www.teradata.com/Resources/Datasheets/QueryGrid-and-Presto-Enabling-faster-more-scalable-interactive...   With the QG connector for Presto you can execute a single query that joins data from Hadoop and Teradata .i You can initiate that query from either Teradata or Presto within the QG archatecture. Teradata  supports connectivity between TD and Presto only through QueryGrid, since it is optimized and fully parallel .  Does that answer your question?

HN
N/A

Hi Mark

I want to run query from Teradata to Presto so that analytical applications earlier using TD's data, now can fetch data from Hadoop and join with TD tables to give more insights and meaning to the data.

Also If I can query from TD then application which were using TD views earlier, will we functioning on the same way. Only I have to create new view (updated view) which have joins/union between TD and Hadoop both.