Multiple DDL/queries at one time? (Error: Only a COMMIT WORK or null statement is legal after a DDL Statement)

Teradata Studio
Enthusiast

Multiple DDL/queries at one time? (Error: Only a COMMIT WORK or null statement is legal after a DDL Statement)

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Teradata’s tools, and I’m using Studio Express.  My coworkers are mostly using SQL Assistant, but I’m using SE because it’s the only Teradata product that’s offered for OSX.

(FYI, I believe I’m connecting in ANSI mode) I’m running into an issue where I can’t run most pre-existing queries, because I’m getting the same error over and over: “Only a COMMIT WORK or null statement is legal after a DDL Statement.” Most the queries we use involve multiple smaller queries, the general flow is something like this:

DROP staging.1

DROP staging.2

Etc

Etc

CREATE TABLE staging.1 AS

(SELECT

FROM

ETC)

CREATE TABLE staging.2 AS

(SELECT

FROM

INNER JOIN staging.1 ON user = user

WHERE etc)

ETC

ETC.

I’ve looked into this issue quite a bit, and it appears to be related to the connection mode I’m using (ANSI)? I’ve seen people say to use BT/ET (assuming they mean “BEGIN TRANSACTION/END TRANSACTION”), to use COMMIT statements, etc. I’ve tried the BEGIN/END, tried COMMIT statements, etc; nothing’s worked. I always get the “Only a COMMIT WORK or null statement is legal after a DDL Statement” error. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Related bonus question: is there any way to drop a table, if it exists? Many of the existing queries that I’m using have sections at the beginning with multiple ‘Drop table A, drop table B, etc’ statements. It appears that SQL Assistant (or maybe just the BTEQ version of the queries) allows you to ignore errors thrown by attempting to drop tables, but Studio Express stops the entire statement from executing.

3 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Multiple DDL/queries at one time? (Error: Only a COMMIT WORK or null statement is legal after a DDL Statement)