copying data from 1 databse to other using BTEQ and parameterising table name

Teradata Studio

copying data from 1 databse to other using BTEQ and parameterising table name

I am new to teradata and  have a scenario where i need to copy some of my data from higher region to lower region based on 2 dates  and there are around 100 table .Is there a way to automate it using bteq 

Usually I was using the below statement to copy my data till now

INSERT INTO <LOWER_REGION>.TB1 SELECT * FROM <UPPER_REGION>.TB1 WHERE DT BETWEEN <DT1> and <DT2>.

Please provide your valuable suggestions

Tags (3)
6 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: copying data from 1 databse to other using BTEQ and parameterising table name

Run the 

select 'Insert into ' || to_table || ' select * from ' || from_table || ' where change_this_to_suit_your_need ;'
from
(
select tablename, trim(DatabaseName ) || '.' || trim(tableName) from_table
from dbc.tables where DatabaseName = 'your_from_database'
) f
(
select tablename, trim(DatabaseName ) || '.' || trim(tableName) to_table
from dbc.tables where DatabaseName = 'your_to_database'
) t
where f.tablename = t.tablename

Run the above sql which will give you set of sqls to move the data from your source-to-target database.

This assumes that you have exact same tablename in both source and destination databases.

The where-clause is little tricky, unless you have the same column-name on all your tables you are a bit out of luck here.

if you know that there is only one date column in the table then you can modify this query to pull that date-column into your where-condition.

Good luck!

Re: copying data from 1 databse to other using BTEQ and parameterising table name

Thanks this approach I had already tried as it will generate 100 sql statements which I need to manually run but my requirement is slightly different .

I want to put all the list of all table names(100 tables ) into text file eg  <table.list>

TO and FROM  dates should also be put in a text file and