Creating ODBC DSN for Teradata Database

Tools & Utilities
Fan

Creating ODBC DSN for Teradata Database

Hi,
Im new to Teradata database. I have installed Teradata 8.1 from the demo cd.I created a new database in Teradata Administrator and tried creating a odbc DSN for my created database.But im unaware of what to provide in the Authentication field of Teradata ODBC Driver. My requirement is simple i want to create a database with some tables and create a ODBC DSN and try connecting with my product through the ODBC DSN. Kindly Help Me.
Thanks in Advance
6 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Creating ODBC DSN for Teradata Database

For Creating a DSN you just need to give connection name (could be anything) ,IP Address of the host and username with which you wish to logon to teradata.

Once the DSN is created successfully,You can logon from any client that uses ODBC for connecting to Teradata(eg:- SQL Assistant,Teradata Administrator etc.,).You just need to fill in your username and password in the wndow that pop-ups when you click the connect icon in your client application.

I beleive you have mistaken the Teradata server with teradata Database. Using ODBC, you connect to Teradata as a User.A user can access/create databases and database objects (subject to his privileges) once he logs on to teradata.
Fan

Hi Leo,
Thanks for your help.I got the issue resolved.

Hi,
I have Informatica 8.1 and have to use Teradata as Backend. I created ODBC connection and I am able to import teradata tables as source and target. I created a relational connection for Teradata and tried to execute my workflow but I am getting error. In teradata relational connection I have given connection name as edw_dev , user_id and Password and data source name again as edw_dev as that is my system dsn name in ODBC connection. The database name is kept as blank.

The error which I am getting is

Severity Timestamp Node Thread Message Code Message