Load file

Tools & Utilities

Load file

I am new to teradata and I am trying to load a large file (16GB) into a table using fastload. I only have this message in the execution:

'Empty file on read open:'

What could be the reason?

8 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Load file

If you are new to Teradata, then you should be using TPT to load data into Teradata and not FastLoad.

TPT (Teradata Parallel Transporter) is the load/unload utility moving forward.

FastLoad is a capped legacy utility and we do not advocate that new users to Teradata use the older utilities.

-- SteveF
Enthusiast

@feinholz, if you want folks to move to TPT, you really need to fix it so it can consume standard input like BTEQ, Fastload, FastExport, Mload so that tool can be more flexible in how it can be used that is what has made Fastload and the other "legacy" tools so good.  That would make it much easier to script jobs and put them into exiting processes.   As it stands, till that happens we would not convert to TPT because it would require massive re-writes of existing processes and change entire standards of how we build scripts.  Being able to inline the tpt job in a shell script would be huge in our environment, the fact that TPT can't be used by Java is another downside...you still use the fastload/fastexport protocols from JDBC, it would be nice if Java could use TPT load operators as well.

Teradata Employee

My post was directed at someone who was "new to Teradata".

Thus, that implies they have not used the legacy utilities.

For those customers, they should be using TPT and not even start using FastLoad.

For existing customers, we are not advocating that they migrate from the legacy utilities to TPT (that was a message we tried to deliver 15+ years ago, but we do not imply that now). We advocate that "new" jobs being developed should use TPT.

As for TPT, there is no need to "fix" TPT, it is not broken.   :)