Searching and Running the different Teradata utilities in Unix Environment

Tools
Enthusiast

Searching and Running the different Teradata utilities in Unix Environment

Hello All,
I am a Newbie to Teradata.
I want to know some details regarding the Teradata Utilities such as Fastload,Mload,Fast Export,Tpump Etc.

I know what each of the Utilities are used.I have to do testing for an Upgradation Project.

I want to know as to how to search in the Unix environment for the different scripts that use these utilities and how to run them separately without the use of daemons.

Thanks in Advance for any kind of Help that is being rendered.

With Regards,
N.V.Balasubramaniam
6 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Searching and Running the different Teradata utilities in Unix Environment

N.V.Balasubramaniam,

I am not sure if I understood you correctly, but I will try to provide you with some "light".... :-)

1) To run scripts using Teradata tools you could use the following format at Unix prompt:
# "command" < "script"

Example:
# bteq < myscript.sql
or
# fastload < myfastlscript.fld

OBS: The file name extensions (".sql", ".fld") really doesn´t matter. The important thing here is
to provide the tool with the correct full file name.

2) I believe that you are trying to find some sample scripts in the Unix. I do not remember if Teradata
provides you with some samples in the directory structure, but you can find some at the
product manuals. I would recommend you to have a Teradata Utilities course as soon as possible,
if you are needing this knowledge in a short term.

3) The Teradata utilities invocation name, to be called at Unix prompt, are:
bteq = BTEQ
fexp = FastExport
fastload = FastLoad
tpump = TPump
mload = MultiLoad

You should be able to invoke those utilities from the Unix prompt without problem. If you are having
any issue regarding this, you should contact your system administrator to help you solving this
problem.

I hope this helps!
Enthusiast

Fabio,