TPT API and TLOGVIEW

Tools
Teradata Employee

TPT API and TLOGVIEW

I'm new to TPT so bear with me.  I've tried finding information on this in the TPT API manuals as well as the TPT reference and user guide and haven't really found much so I had no choice but to try the forums....  I typically use a third party ETL tool (DataStage) to load to Teradata.   DataStage uses the TPT API and all of the applicable libraries to load to Teradata.  I have recently started to use TPT (outside of DataStage) and all of the cool utilities that come with it such as TLOGVIEW, TWBSTAT, etc...  This got me thinking about why third party ETL tools that use TPT API can't leverage the TPT operational utilities like TLOGVIEW.  I have found that logging in DataStage for Teradata related errors isn't very verbose, so in my opinion, it would certainly add value to be able to use TLOGVIEW to provide more verbose logging as well as all the other operational metadata features (i.e. run statistics).  Does anyone know if it is possible to enable TPT API applications to use TLOGVIEW or something equivalent?

5 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: TPT API and TLOGVIEW

Ok. I will try to explain why those tool are not available for TPTAPI.

Those tools are only available for the script-based TPT because the operators are controlled by a TPT infrastructure (a set of applications and processes) that control, monitor and coordinate the activities between the operators.

Those tools interect with the TPT infrastructure.

In TPTAPI, we just provide the operators to a customer-written application and it is the customer-written application that is responsible for controlling, monitoring and coordinating the activities of the operators.

Those tools cannot interact with customer-written applications.