Teradata Mapping Manager 2.0.3, error with LogFile permissions

Tools
Enthusiast

Teradata Mapping Manager 2.0.3, error with LogFile permissions

I've just installed TMM 2.0.3, but I get the error "Cannot create log files under ...  Disk may be full or you may not have proper permissions..."

Neither is true.  I am an Administrator on the PC.  I have tried creating test files in the logfiles directory with no problem.

However, I noticed that after install I have two logfile directories,  one in Teradata Mapping Manager/bin/LogFiles in the install path I selected, and one in My Documents/Teradata Mapping Manager/LogFiles.  By default it appears that TMM creates a folder structure in My Documents.

I attempted to change my folder Read Only properties using the "attrib" command ( see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/326549 ). 

So:

Why are there two LogFiles directories ? 

Can I change where TMM looks for the LogFile directory ?

How is it detecting that I don't have permissions ?   This seems to be giving a false positive.

Thanks

P.S.  I'll try installing on another drive, but I believe it should work OK where it is (in my preferred location!).

Tags (1)
10 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Teradata Mapping Manager 2.0.3, error with LogFile permissions

Sorry guys,

I can't get it to work in any install directory I choose.

Version 2.0.2 works though so I'll stick with that for now.

Enthusiast

What operating system are you using?

The LogFiles folder under your install path is the "old" log files location, and should only have a readme file in it that tells you where the "new" log files folder is located. The code was supposed to change in 2.0.3 to write all log files to the LogFiles folder under the current user's My Documents folder. I cannot reproduce this problem on my Win 7 machine, but I will ask the programmers to check the code again to make sure that one of the loggers is not still writing to the old log files folder.