Teradata tpt

Tools
N/A

Teradata tpt

Hi All, I am new to this post and in teradata.

I am trying to create one unix script that will do the table sync from one to another for COB sync with tpt utility.

I need script to unload from source table and load to target table by tpt and if possible unload file in delimited.But also I need to generate the dml of the unload file and save it for future use.

Can you please help if there are anything in tpt like .ml script in fast export automatically created, else how to achieve that.

Also I want the tpt load should be upsert which tdload is not doing.I tried with tdload but it is only doing insert.

49 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Teradata tpt

The TPT documentation has sample scripts to help you with this.

When you install TPT, there is also a samples directory with sample scripts for all of the popular scenarios (like the one you seek).

TPT does not have a feature like FastExport's (to create an ML script).

As for tdload, right now it is only used for inserts.

(The original concept behind the Easy Loader feature is to quickly and easily perform inserts from a flat file into a table without the need for a script.)

-- SteveF
N/A

Thanks Steve, I have gone through tpt scripts from this forum and  understood the thing.

1.Is there any way I can generate the dml of the file to flat file and save it for future use?

2.Also If I am creating delimited unload file say '|' separated, it is failing for the tables which all records are not varchar.is there any solution?confused about lot of solution on this in the forum.

3.is there any way that I can unload the table by tpt and load the unloaded file by mload? as in this case I need the dml which not being able to generate in tpt.

Teradata Employee

3. Why would you want to export from TPT and load back in with MultiLoad? Why not just load back in with TPT?