bteq export and import for _ET dataparcel

Tools

bteq export and import for _ET dataparcel

Hi,  I'm new to Teradata and need to do the following:

I'm on a Unix system, using verision 13.0. 

We're inserting data into the "Stage" table from a delimited text file (bell is the delimeter \007)

1.  export the dataparcel field from the _ET table to a file  (delimited text if possible)

2.  fix the contents of the file

3.  import the corrected file into the "Stage" table

This is my bteq export command:   

.SET RECORDMODE ON

.EXPORT DATA FILE=bteq_ET_SELECT.out

LOCKING ROW FOR ACCESS

SELECT DataParcel

FROM DEV_CONTR_STG.R_SLS_ORD_TYP_ET

;

.EXPORT RESET;

.LOGOFF;

.QUIT;

Results:

SQp^F000186^Z2011-05-12-21.20.21.613001^Z2011-05-12-21.20.21.613001^HDEVETL

SQp^F000192^Z2011-05-12-21.23.56.659506^Z2011-05-12-21.23.56.659506^HDEVETL

I've tried different combinations using RECORDMODE and INDICDATA with .SET separator "|" , but can never export the DataParcel as delimited text.

There are null fields in the DataParcel, but these null fields don't show up as fields at all in the dataparcel output file.   (e.g. when I use SQL Assistant to view the dataparcel, I do see the null fields)

I read in another post that you don't need to specify the 1st field above on the import because BTEQ adds the "fast load" format to the beginning of the record and to each field in the record.

----

Then I try to import my "exported file" from above

.IMPORT DATA FILE=bteq_ET_SELECT.out

.REPEAT *

using(fld1 varchar(6),

fld2 varchar(26),

fld3 varchar(26),

fld4 varchar(20)

)

insert into dev_contr_stg.ttd_err_tst

(sls_ord_typ_cd,row_insrt_tms,row_updt_tms,row_usr_id)

values (:fld1,

:fld2,

:fld3,

:fld4);

.LOGOFF;

.QUIT;

*** Starting Row 0 at Mon Feb 20 17:32:35 2012

*** Failure 2673 The source parcel length does not match data that was defined.

Statement# 1, Info =1

*** Total elapsed time was 1 second.