Difference and concepts of ETL.

UDA
Enthusiast

Difference and concepts of ETL.

Hi

Recently i was joined in IT Company. Now i am a Trainee in DWH, still no project are alloted to me.

Last day my PM told that get trained in Teradata of ETL part, and didn't explain me any more.

CAn anyone please tell me

1) Difference in ETL, Administration and DQ of Teradata.

2) What are the tools i have to learn in ETL of Teradata.

Presently I am working in INFA tool.

Any replies are highly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance
Paddu
24 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Difference and concepts of ETL.

Your first port of call is to find out if there is a data warehouse already existing that you are scheduled to start supporting or if your team are building a new DW from scratch.

If there is already a platform then you need to find some of the following:
* What technologies your Teradata server sits on i.e. Teradata for Windows/Teradata for Unix/Linux.

* What Teradata/3rd Party utilities you use to load your data from the source system into Teradata(staging area) i.e. BTEQ/FAST LOAD/MULTI LOAD/IMPORT/TPUMP etc. You can locate these via START>>PROGRAMS>>TERADATA CLIENT...betq/fload etc

* If you use only stored procedures to load the data from staging into the main DW tables or if you use a mixture of Stored Procedures & UDF's written in C/Java etc.

Any good developer/DBA could give you the answers to these.

1) Difference in ETL, Administration and DQ of Teradata.
ETL stands for Extract/Transformation and Load. It is the process by which you get your data from the source system into your data warehouse. Administration is the DBA function and consistes of storage management/backup and restore/recover methods/Source Control(maybe)/Security etc.

2) What are the tools i have to learn in ETL of Teradata.