How to CREATE , INSERT TABLES INTO PERSONAL DATABASE FROM THE COMPANY'S DATA WAREHOUSE

UDA

How to CREATE , INSERT TABLES INTO PERSONAL DATABASE FROM THE COMPANY'S DATA WAREHOUSE

I am new to Teradata. I have a clear understanding about using the SELECT statement.

I would like to create a make table something like the one you are able to use in access. But anytime I try to use the select and INTO it say I do not have permission.
I am guessing that there is a personal database within Teradata where I can create this table or temporary tables without it being created within the data warehouse.

I need some direction or a link where I can learn how to do this. I think within the Select INTO statement I have to include the part of my personal database. But I do not know how.
Here is an example of what I would like to do. There is already a table1 and table2 within the company data warehouse and I will like to insert the result into my personal database call JOHN. Basically I will be Selecting data from the company’s data warehouse (This database does not allow you to create) and into a personal database I created within the Teradata explorer.

SELECT T1.* INTO jump
FROM Table1 AS T1 INNER JOIN table2 ON T1.ID=table2.ID
WHERE (((T1.amt)<=(SELECT Max(Amt) FROM Table1 As T2 WHERE T2.ID = T1.ID AND (SELECT COUNT(*) FROM Table1 AS T3 WHERE T3.ID = T2.ID AND T3.Amt <= T2.Amt) <= table2.Audit)));

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Please a step by step will be great.
7 REPLIES

Re: How to CREATE , INSERT TABLES INTO PERSONAL DATABASE FROM THE COMPANY'S DATA WAREHOUSE

You can go through the data definition and sql manuals from teradata to learn detailed syntax,

but here are some samples

/* Table JOHN.Jump already exists and the column data types match those of the select list, you should find this in sql manual */

INSERT INTO JOHN.JUMP
SELECT col1, col2
FROM t1, t2
where t1.key = t2.key
;